Sale and District Bowling League

The results service for the Sale and District Bowling League

Honours boards
Minutes of meetings

2010 season
2011 season
2012 season
2013 season
2014 Season

The Sale and District Bowling League was founded in 1949 (first season was 1950), initially for teams within two miles of Sale Town Hall.

We currently run two divisions, playing on Wednesday evenings.There are also knock-out competitions for each division, an individual Merit competition and a pairs competition.

For more information, contact the secretary, .

Pride of Sale final and Presentation day

Laws of the Game

Fives Competition Finals

Eric Dale Pairs final

Sale Merit

2017 Season

Finals Day 2016

Honours boards

Pride of Sale final and Presentation day

The final of the Pride of Sale competition was played at Trinity BC on Saturday 23 September. Two second division teams contested the final, with league and fives winners Cringlewood completing a clean sweep.

The winning Cringlewood team

Runners-up South-west Manchester CC

(Sunday 24 September 2017)

Laws of the Game

David Williams (Secretary of British Crown Green Referees Society & Greater Manchester Referees Society) is hoping to arrange seminars on the laws of Crown Greem Bowls. He proposes a series of three sessions, each lasting 1½ hours.

If you are interested please contact him on 07899 688 182 or . Once he has some idea of the interest he will arrange venues/dates/times/etc.

(Monday 21 August 2017)

Fives Competition Finals

The finals of the fives competitions took place on Wednesday 16 August.

Division 1 at Cringlewood:

 In a repeat of last year’s final, Fallowfield were a player short, but with eight winners they won the match and retained the trophy. 

Quarry Bank Fallowfield
Harold Smith 15   Craig Borlase 21 6
Brian Clare 4   Paul Craven 21 17
Dave Roberts 8   John Davies 21 13
Arthur West 11   Mike Bacon 21 10
Andy Long 12   Carl Dulson 21 9
Tony Hinds 4   Chris Johnstone 21 17
Peter Kelsall 21 21 Absent 0  
Harold Wright 14   Geoff Fletcher 21 7
Robin Grayson 16   Graham Hulbert 21 5
Rob White 21 1 Frank Warburton 20  
TOTAL 126 22 TOTAL 188 84


The winning Fallowfield team

Division 2 at Fallowfield:

Cringlewood’s experience told over United Services’ enthusiasm.

Cringlewood United Services
Chris Cox 21 10 Noelyne Crutchley 11  
Dave Hallam 21 11 Les Keegan 10  
Phil Hevicon 21 10 Nick Lee 11  
John Ryder 21 15 Gary Robertson 6  
Bob Edwards 21 10 Ged Keegan 11  
Tommy Arends 21 12 Nicci Scott 9  
Alan Ball 21 19 Simon Brittain 2  
Roy Tobin 20   Dawn Brittain 21 1
Terry Banks 21 1 Paul Hayes 20  
Ray Barrow 21 8 Peter Yarwood 13  
TOTAL 209 96 TOTAL 114 41

The Cringlewood and United Services teams

(Thursday 17 August 2017)

Eric Dale Pairs final

The Eric Dale competition was played on Saturday 22 July at Chorlton BC. Twelve pairs entered.

The competition was won by Terry Banks and Ray Barrow of Cringlewood.

Trophy presentation
Winners Ray Barrow and Terry Banks with chairman Frank Warburton

See the full draw for the final day.

(Saturday 22 July 2017)

Sale Merit

The final day of the Sale Merit was held on Wednesday 28 June. On a day of continuous light rain, the planned venue was not available. Sale Excelsior Bowling Club kindly agreed to host the event.

One qualifier was unable to play because of an unexpected work commitment.

The competition was won by Peter Kelsall of Quarry Bank.

(Wednesday 28 June 2017)

2017 Season

Longsight CC have resigned from the league. This leaves us with 14 teams.

The committee decided to run the league as follows:

  • Division 1 of 7 teams, playing 14 league matches
  • Division 2 of 7 teams, playing 14 league matches
  • Fives competitions in division
  • A team single knock-out competition for both divisions

The Pride of Sale cup will be awarded to the winners of the knockout competition. The President's Cup will be awarded to the winners of the Division 1 fives competition.

The fixtures are now available.

For the Merit, both the qualifying rounds and the final will be played on Wednesday evenings (7 and 28 June), in the hope of attracting more entries. This pushes the end of the season, and the Pride of Sale competition, back by one week.

The Eric Dale pairs competition remains a one-day event, on Saturday 22 July.

(Thursday 12 January 2017)

Finals Day 2016

The final of the Pride of Sale knock-out cup was played at Brooklands on Saturday 17 September. Quarry Bank won three of the first four games, but then South Manchester RBL got into gear and with no more losers they retained the trophy.

Pride of Sale winners South Manchester RBL

(Sunday 18 September 2016)

Honours boards

There is a new web page available (at It shows all the history I have been able to gather. You can view the winners of a competition, or in a season. You can also search for a club: this will show the club's successes in team competitions as well as the triumphs of its members in individual competitions.

(Monday 26 August 2013)